“Chemical Odor That’s Causing Headache” in Standard Heights

Anna Hrybyk 2

By Anna Hrybyk, Program Director

On May 7, 2013 I attended a community meeting on Lupine Avenue in the Standard Heights neighborhood across from Honeywell and ExxonMobil.  Twelve people texted and called to our iWitness Pollution Map regarding a strong chemical odor during that time and earlier that day.  It disrupted the meeting because many people were getting sick from the chemical fumes.

LOCATION DESCRIPTION
2621 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA I am at 2621 lupine its a bad smell in the air
2621 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA I’m located at 2621 Lupine ave there’s a chemical odor in the air
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Hello this is Bessie Johnson.  I was standing outside on Luoine cross street of Chippewa if I’m not mistaken and I didn’t see anything but I smelled a foul odor coming out of the air.  And once again this is Bessie Johnson and my address is 1501 Seneca and I smelled something yesterday, more of a rotten egg type smell and I really didn’t see anything.  And I’m currently smelling gas in my house and I had it checked and I have yet to get reported that I have a gas leak.  Thank you.
2550 Lobelia Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA 7am -11am today sulphur smell. 6:30pm-8:00pm 4 different smells caused me
to cough. Address 2550 Lobeila Ave, Baton Rouge, LA. Susan Boudreaux
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Chemical odor that’s causing headache on lupine street may 5 13 at 7:55pm
name Laronica Douglas
2732 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Yes I am at 2732 Lupine.  There’s a bad smell in the area and it has me feeling nauseous.  You can give me a call back at 397-2323.  Thank you.
Baton Rouge, LA, USA my name is Chantay Eackels .and I live buy Exxon and I smell a bad odor
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Hi I’m on Lupine.  I smell the chemicals right now.
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA I’m in the subdivision right across from the Exxon plant on Lupine Street.  It’s a bad smell in the neighborhood…Extremely…can’t hardly breathe.
2768 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Strong smell,  suffocating.  Eyes are burning and headache coming on
2757 Sorrel Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Bad odor like dead meat on 2757 sorrel ave at 6:45pm on 5-7-13
2824 Pimpernel Ave, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States Across the street from Exxon.  Wind blowing from north west.  Scratchy throat and headache coming on

Peter Ricca from LDEQ’s response was the following:

One citizen’s odor complaint was called into the State Police at 8:26 pm on 5/7/2013.  State Police  and the Baton Rouge Fire Department Hazmat investigated the complaint that night and spoke with the complainant.  Baton Rouge FD personnel conducted air monitoring and their results were non-detect.  State Police followed up with Exxon Mobil, who reported no releases and non-detect on their monitoring conducted both inside and external to their facility.  LDEQ received the LSP notification  on 5/8/2013 at 10:59 am and once processed it will be sent to our capitol Regional Office for follow up.

At this time LDEQ has not received any Hazardous Materials Hotline or NRC notifications of releases in East Baton Rouge Parish.

The incident in question was assigned to our Capitol Regional Office and that investigation is open.  The Baton Rouge Fire Department indicated that they conducted air monitoring at the complainant’s home and in the surrounding area and that the complainant was contacted by investigating trooper.  You may wish to make a public records request to the Baton Rouge Fire Department Hazmat unit  or State Police for a copy of their reports that may answer your question.

This entry was posted in Grassroots Mapping- Gulf Coast, Oil Refineries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

