Smelling Baton Rouge

Anna Hrybyk 2By Anna Hrybyk, Program Director

LABB received 3 reports to our iWitness Pollution Map from North Baton Rouge neighborhoods surrounding the ExxonMobil complex within a two hour time period on the evening on May 3rd.  The ExxonMobil Chemical Plant Baton Rouge Complex reported releasing Sulfur Dioxide early morning on May 5th according to an NRC report.

http://www.oilspill.labucketbrigade.org/reports/view/10126   17:54 May 3 2013 Scenic Highway and Chippewa, Baton Rouge, LA   “it’s got kind of like a sharp smell to it but then also a kind of old egg smell as well. It makes my head hurt and I’ve got a pretty bad headache right now. It’s gone from…I was coming down Scenic Highway and its gone from I guess Evangeline all the way to Chippewa.”

http://www.oilspill.labucketbrigade.org/reports/view/10125  18:37 May 3 2013 Chippewa Street & Arbutus Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA  “I can smell strong fumes in the air which after sitting out here a while has given me a headache.”

http://www.oilspill.labucketbrigade.org/reports/view/10127  19:58 May 3 2013 Plank Road, Baton Rouge, LA, USA  “I live on Plank Road and I work at the Cox Building on Florida Boulevard and all day today I smelled just funk in the air. It seems to be…the winds are coming from the northwest and its blowing right into all over Baton Rouge”

I sent these reports to Peter Ricca at LDEQ.  He responded:

Ms. Hrybyk,

1.       Regarding EBR odor complaints received on May 4-5, 2013

LDEQ has received a written complaint notification (13-01924) from the LSP Hotline.  That complaint was made to State Police at 4:37 PM on Friday May 3rd.  State Police processes calls received  and then distributes that information to other local and state agencies.  Complaints received by LDEQ after regular business hours are processed in the order received during the next regular business day.  In processing that complaint report today {May 7} a follow up call was made by LDEQ field staff to obtain additional information from the caller.  Based on that additional information LDEQ inspectors from the Capitol Regional Office are planning to investigate a nearby facility that believed to be the origin of the odor complaint .

2.       Regarding  the May 5th Exxon Chemical Notification (13-01936) to the LSP Hazardous Material Hotline received by LDEQ LDEQ received the written LSP notification today.  Three (3) updates to the report were made after LDEQ was notified of the incident.  Those updates included the following information: [1st] additional chemicals were added to the list of chemicals sent to the flare.  That list included 1-3 butadiene >10lbs, benzene > 10lbs, and SO2 (no amount is included on the report provided to LDEQ); [2nd] incident closed at 0540, only RQ exceeded was ethylene at 292.2 lbs; [3rd] flammable vapor exceedance during incident 3,000 lbs to atmosphere.

Thank you for your concerns.

Peter Ricca, Environmental Scientist Manager

LOCATION DESCRIPTION
2621 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA I am at 2621 lupine its a bad smell in the air
2621 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA I’m located at 2621 Lupine ave there’s a chemical odor in the air
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Hello this is Bessie Johnson.  I was standing outside on Luoine cross street of Chippewa if I’m not mistaken and I didn’t see anything but I smelled a foul odor coming out of the air.  And once again this is Bessie JOhnson and my address is 1501 Seneca and I smelled something yesterday, more of a rotten egg type smell and I really didn’t see anything.  And I’m currently smelling gas in my house and I had it checked and I have yet to get reported that I have a gas leak.  THank you.
2550 Lobelia Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA 7am -11am today sulpher smell. 6:30pm-8:00pm 4 different smells caused me
to cough. Address 2550 Lobeila Ave, Baton Rouge, LA. Susan Boudreaux
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Chemical odor thats causing headache on lupine street may 5 13 at 7:55pm
name laronica douglas
2732 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Yes I am at 2732 Lupine.  There’s a bad smell in the area and it has me feeling nauseous.  You can give me a call back at 397-2323.  Thank you.
Baton Rouge, LA, USA my name is Chantay  Eackels .and I live buy exxon and I smell a bad odor
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Hi I’m on Lupine.  I smell the chemicals right now.
Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA I’m in the subdivision right across from the Exxon plant on Lupine Street.  It’s a bad smell in the neighborhoood…Extremely…can’t hardly breathe.
2768 Lupine Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Strong smell,  suffocAting.  Eyes are burning and headache coming on
2757 Sorrel Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70805, USA Bad odor like dead meat on 2757 sorrel ave at 6:45pm on 5-7-13
2824 Pimpernel Ave, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States Across the street from Exxon.  Wind blowing from north west.  Scratchy throat and headache coming on

 

Yesterday I was attending a community meeting of the Standard Heights Neighborhood Association on Lupine Avenue across from Honeywell chemical plant and the ExxonMobil Refinery in North Baton Rouge.  The acrid smell of chemicals was pervasive throughout the meeting.  Many people called and texted into the map throughout the night during and after the meeting.

This entry was posted in Grassroots Mapping- Gulf Coast. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smelling Baton Rouge

  1. Ann says:

    If you think waiting on DEQ is bad, just think about what will happen if a current house bill passes the Senate and becomes law: the Dept. of Revenue will have exclusive right to deny an environmental permit if the company or individual owes any debts to the state. Sounds great right? Wrong! Waste, tires, trash and bad air will result because they’ll do it without a permit. Way to go Rep. Broadwater!

  2. flyingcuttlefish says:

    Reblogged this on The Louisiana Sinkhole Bugle and commented:
    Sulfur Dioxide release in Baton Rouge!

  3. flyingcuttlefish says:

    SB200 will save lives. It will prevent the aquifer from becoming a chemical waste pit.

Leave a Reply

