Much to my chagrin…

By Amy Lin, LABB Graphic Design Intern

Much to my chagrin, I admit that during Hurricane Isaac I was mostly worried about whether my windows would hold up and when my power would inevitably go out. I guess that’s how things usually are though, right? Whatever’s happening to you at that moment is the most important to you. It’s not until afterwards do you fully understand what has happened. And sometimes, how fortunate you are.

On my first day at LABB, I was thrown into a different kind of storm: I was given the task of finishing a poster for a press conference the next day. As I pushed pixels, arranged (and rearranged), and sized (and resized), I found myself continually staring at a colorful array of dots along the Louisiana coast. It hadn’t occurred to me (much to my chagrin–see what I mean?) that there was damage beyond downed trees, electrical lines, and extensive flooding. The flooding was already bad enough, but to have so many oil and gas accidents on top of that? It was like kicking us when we were already down.

I finished the poster just in time and off to the press it went; I didn’t think about the poster much after that. I returned the next week for my second day at LABB to find that hey, the map was in the news! And more? I had a hard time wrapping my head around this, much like my inability to take compliments. I was humbled and at the same time, kind of amazed at the attention it was getting. But in recent years with Hurricane Katrina and the BP oil spill, it’s understandable that whenever natural disasters make their way towards us or when oil spills happen (large or small), we’ll hear about it. And so will everyone else.

Watching and hearing everything on the local news and everyone’s stories has been extraordinary. The experiences we weather always add another layer of perspective onto your own, and Isaac was definitely one of them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

